Reinstalling the server

Anything to do with the site

Reinstalling the server

Postby Kris » Fri Oct 16, 2015 2:38 pm

It's that time again folks for some good old housecleaning! On monday we'll wipe the server and have it reinstalled nice and fresh for us. The server has been running nicely for 5 years without many issue but it's just a matter of things adding up.

So starting sunday you may see some slowness on the site as the database is transferred to our redundant server. Then on monday the DNS will change to the redundant server while we reinstall and configure everything on the primary server and switch back the DNS when it looks like it's done. Then after testing it for a day or so the db will be moved back as well. So expect a hickup or two early next week, ok :)

And it's so rare than I can say this and mean it so I just gotta go with it - "trust me, I'm a professional".

// Kris
8. Don't store all your backups in one place.If Cylons can benefit from off-site backup, so can you.
- PC Worlds "10 Business Lessons From 'Battlestar Galactica'"
Kris
Site Admin

Re: Reinstalling the server

Postby Kris » Sun Oct 18, 2015 4:42 pm

Current status is:
Primary server is reinstalled, all services and files are transferred back and DNS changes should point everyone to the primary server now.
8. Don't store all your backups in one place.If Cylons can benefit from off-site backup, so can you.
Kris
Site Admin

Postby Rachel » Mon Oct 26, 2015 10:36 pm

Has the site been acting really strangely for everyone else or is it just me? The latest post on the main site never showed up for me until I logged onto WordPress, three days later. Anything I upload to the gallery won't reflect on the main site unless I'm logged in, either. As soon as I log out, everything's gone again. :\ Hard refresh does nothing.
Rachel

Postby Carlito Brigante » Tue Oct 27, 2015 10:43 pm